6jvscdtysko1ahxfvdtl

Foundations Training for Mindful Educators August 2019 Session

For Grades K-8

  Enroll

Foundations Training For Mindful Educators
Dates: August 30, 2019 - December 23, 2019
Course Price: $616.00
Early Bird Price: $416.00 (Must sign up by July 15, 2019 to take advantage of discount.)


COURSE OVERVIEW

Foundations for Mindful Educators is a new innovative online Personal and Professional Development (PPD) course.Throughout the 16 week session, participants will be guided by Mindfulness First Instructor, Emmanuelle Giumelli, as they learn Mindfulness Based Social and Emotional Learning (MBSEL) for both themselves and their students.

As a fully online course, participants can create a schedule and time commitment that best suits their needs. Our Personal Development lessons require about 20 minutes each week. Our Curriculum Training lessons take approximately 15-35 minutes per week and include recorded and written curriculum for participants to review, learn from, and become familiar with. We recommend dedicating a total of 55 minutes per week to learning from the course; with additional time spent enjoying discussions with session members and Instructor, Emmanuelle.


WHAT'S INCLUDED?

Section 1: Personal Development - Mindfulness Booster Lessons

Personal Mindfulness Lessons (aka “Boosters Lessons”) are the Personal Development component of this Personal and Professional Development (PPD) course. Participants receive 20 minute lessons with information and tools for educators to attain greater self-awareness and well-being through internal resources such as emotional resilience and mindfulness. During the 16 week session, lessons become available each week and can be watched anytime, at the participant's convenience. Online community discussions are ongoing each week and facilitated by Instructor Emmanuelle Giumelli, who is also available individually via email and office hours.

Section 2: Professional Development - Curriculum Training

Curriculum Trainings are the Professional Development component of this Personal and Professional Development (PPD) course. In tandem with personal development lessons, participants receive 16 weekly curriculum themes that mirrors the Personal Development Lessons and creates a foundational classroom curriculum. Participants will be given Mindfulness First’s proprietary curriculum, recorded example lessons, and innumerable resources and curriculum resources will be made available every week, and can be reviewed at leisure. Utilizing these resources, each participant is encouraged to nurture their own way of bringing MBSEL to students, whether it be their own style of teaching or specific to the population they work with. Ongoing community curriculum discussions will be available online, as above.

What’s Included in the Deliverables

  • 16 Personal Mindfulness Development Lessons and Resources
  • Written K-8 Curriculum
  • Audio K-8 Curriculum
  • Children’s Journal and Activity Pages
  • Recorded Examples of Mindfulness First Teaching Each Theme
  • Resources for Each Theme
  • Permanent membership to our private mindfulness forum
  • 6 month free membership to Mindfulness First Community Circle
Optional Add-Ons (Where Available)
  • In-school lesson modeling with a Mindfulness First Instructor (extra cost involved)
  • In-person gatherings (alongside online gatherings)

Certification and Continuing Education Credit Hours

Participants receive a certificate of completion and a certificate for 10 CPD credit hours.

Full or Partial Scholarships Available

We have a limited number of scholarships per cohort. Please feel free to apply here by 8/15/19: https://bit.ly/applyforascholarship.

Dates of Live Online Sessions

You will be able to meet our instructors, ask questions, share experiences and network with like-minded educators.

  • 1st Live Session: September 3, 2019 @ 5:00pm (AZ MST)
  • 2nd Live Session: October 21, 2019 @ 5:00pm (AZ MST)
  • 3rd Live Session: December 9, 2019 @ 5:00pm (AZ MST)



COURSE INSTRUCTOR:

Emmanuelle Giumelli | Course Instructor

Emmanuelle Giumelli has been working in Flagstaff, AZ for 13 years, in schools, as a mindfulness based mental health therapist. Her certifications as a mindfulness educator are extensive. She has been a mindfulness consultant and educator since 2012 in schools and her community. She is the author of the children’s book See, Hear, Feel: Mindfulness for Children One Moment at a Time (Wisdom Publications, 2018). Emmanuelle’s work is sustained by a dedicated mindfulness practice and mindful living in Northern Arizona

What We're Working On:


  Pre-Program Survey
Available in days
days after you enroll
  SEL - Social Emotional Learning
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Communicating MBSEL program to parents & community
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Guidance For Working With Children & MBSEL
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Be Inspired! Documentaries About Mindfulness In Schools
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 1 Booster: What is Mindfulness
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 2 Booster: Brain Science, Part 1
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 3 Booster: Brain Science, Part 2: Anchor & Glitter Jar
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 4 Booster: Relax with Tense & Be Heavy (Mindfulness of the Body Part 1)
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 5 Booster: Mindful Eating
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 6 Booster: Mindful Senses
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 7 Booster: Mindfulness of the Body (Part 2)
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 8 Booster: Feelings & Emotions
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 9 Booster: Creating Space For Our Feelings
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 10 Booster: Mindful Art
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 11 Booster: Thoughts Are Like Bubbles
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 12 Booster: Mindfulness of Thoughts
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 13 Booster: Mindful Heart - Gratitude
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 14 Booster: Mindful Heart - Kind Wishes
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 15 Booster: Mindful Heart - Generosity
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Lesson 16 Booster: A Mindful Life
Available in days
days after you enroll
  MBSEL K-4 Curriculum
Available in days
days after you enroll
  Post- Program Survey
Available in days
days after you enroll

Frequently Asked Questions


When does the course start and finish?
The course starts on August 30, 2019 and finishes on the week of December 23, 2019. Graduates will have permanent access to this course and its contents. Graduates will also be able to take an Advanced Training For Mindful Educators course with Mindfulness First (extra cost involved) to take a deep dive into curriculum ideas.
How long do I have access to the course?
You will have permanent access to the contents of this course and its resources.
What if I am unhappy with the course?
Refunds for students who withdraw after tuition has been paid, but 5 days before the first day of classes, will receive 100% of the tuition. After the beginning of classes, refunds will be calculated as follows: A refund of 50% for withdrawal during the 5 days before class and during the first week of class. No refund will be made after the first week of the course.
Who should take the course?
This is a great course for anyone who works with children. It is designed to provide resources for a classroom setting but these resources are helpful wherever you may be working with kids.
Are there prerequisites?
There are no specific prerequisites. In this course we teach mindfulness for you, and we give you themes and ideas for how to then teach mindfulness to children. We ask that you have a genuine desire to self-reflect during your personal mindfulness lessons, a team spirit so that you can learn and grow with your cohort members, and a sense of commitment for the journey to mindfulness.
I am registered now what?
You will receive your receipt for purchase. Your instructor will contact you about a week before class starts to get you oriented.
How do I access the course?
You can access Mindfulness First's "teachable.com" school via your computer or phone. Download their App to your phone for quick, user-friendly access on-the-go (we recommend the App!). And for when you are sat at your desk, just keep the URL bookmarked and you will be able to quickly log in to the course anytime.
How long is my course?
This course is 17 weeks long. The first week is an introduction and review of what's to come and then a total of 16 lessons. It takes time and reflection to learn mindfulness in a way that will be sustained. The 16 weeks are designed to fit into your existing schedule, and give you a running start for a mindful life and skills as a mindfulness teacher.
Do I need to buy any additional resources or materials to participate?
Not from us. We have a lot of resources for you to print out if you desire, everything is stored digitally for your convenience.
Do I need to be online at certain times to participate?
The vast majority of this course is available for you to watch and read at your convenience. There will be three online gatherings to help build learning and create community. You will be given advance notice of these dates (they may already be included on this page). Should you have any scheduling conflicts, please reach out to your instructor.
I am not a classroom teacher. Would I still benefit from taking the online course?
Absolutely! If you are interested in learning mindfulness for yourself and receiving resources for sharing mindfulness with children, then this is a great course for you.
Can I earn continuing education credits with Mindfulness First's online courses?
Yes! We offer a 10 hour certification.
Cancellation of an online course
Mindfulness First strives to provide the highest level of quality, and we reserve the right to cancel or postpone an event when necessary. If you are registered for an event that is cancelled, fee paid will be held on account for a future event or refunded.
When should I register?
Courses may fill up fast, be sure to register early. Limited spots available.
Do you provide financial assistance?
We have a limited number of scholarships per cohort. Please feel free to apply here by 8/15/19: https://bit.ly/applyforascholarship. If you are not able to receive one for this session, we will add you to the waiting list (for the next session) in the order received.
Do you offer a payment plan?
For this course, we offer payment options for new registrants up until August 15, 2019. You will find the options at the check out. After that time, new registrants will be required to pay in full at the time of sign-up.

For more information about Mindfulness First please visit our website. If you have any questions that we haven't answered here, please contact us at info@mindfulnessfirst.org. Thank you!

Get started now!